“As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases”
Florida Car Seat Laws- Before making any vacations plans for your family, make sure to check the car seat laws of the state you are planning to visit. It is essential, if you want your child to be safe and you don’t want to have to pay fines because of your lack of information.
Therefore, if you’re planning a vacation in Florida for you and your family, make sure to check out the Florida car seat laws. Some laws may be the same in different states, but it’s better to be safe than sorry. You don’t want to pay $ 60 fines and to have 3 points on the driving record.
Table of Contents
Florida Car Seat Laws: Requirements
Travelling with your kid is never an easy job. Florida car seat laws may be different from the country or the state you’re living in. Florida has car seat laws depending on the child’s age. These are based upon government safety requirements. Here are the Florida car seats laws that you need to take into account:
- Children under four years old: If your child fits this category, the Florida car seat laws state that the child has to be restrained in a child safety seat, rear-facing, in the back seat of the car. The rules recommend that you should switch to a forward-facing car seat once your child outgrows the rear-facing seat. The forward-facing car seat must also be installed in the back seat of the car.
- Children between 4 and 5 years old: In this case, according to the Florida car seat laws, you can either use a child safety seat or use a booster. Experts in safety recommend using the child safety seat until your child exceeds the height or the weight limit of the seat. After that, you should use a booster seat in case the seat belt doesn’t fit your child correctly.
- Children between 6 and 8 years old: At this stage, the Florida car seat laws let you put your child in the back seat of the car. You have to use the seat belt at all times. However, if your child’s height is less than 4 feet and 9 inches, experts recommend that you can use a booster seat.
- Children between 9 and 12 years old: In this case, the Florida car seat laws do not require that your child uses a booster seat. Your child will be able to sit in the back seat of the car, using the adult safety belt.
- Thirteen years old children and above: When children reach 13, the Florida car seat laws allow them to sit both in the back and in the front seat of the car. They must use the adult safety belt, regardless of where they sit in the car.
Height and Weight Requirements of Car Seat Law Florida
It is difficult to find out the height and weight requirements of Florida car seat law. You only get age limit references in this law. Though they don’t directly address height and weight requirements, but you can find the information indirectly.
Whither Florida car seat law has approved the law based on only age limit, there the American academy of pediatrics and other federally has approved their law guidelines on the children height or weight instead of age. They do this because every child’s growth rate is not equal. You can say this is a lacking or disadvantage of Florida car seat law.
Height and weight requirements are safer than the age requirements and height and weight requirements help you to determine the best possible outcome in a car accident. If you follow them, you will follow Florida law and also follow the most secure rules for your child. You will get the ultimate safety guidelines on our website. You can read them for easier understanding.
Rear-facing Car Seat Law Florida
Florida car seat law does not specify the time of using a rear facing seat. But it declares an age that is under 4 to 5 years old. Even then it is confusing for parents. If you are reading this article, then you won’t need to confuse.
Every car seat owner’s manual gives specific recommendation for their front and rear facing car seat. You can easily find there, when to use and when to stop using rear-facing seat. Some basic guides are given below:
- Your child should start rear facing car seat from the hospital.
- When your child is a toddler, he or she should remain in rear facing seat.
- You should sit your child in rear facing seat until reaching 45 to 50 pounds.
- If you want to consider the age, then the age of your child should be under 5 years old.
Booster Seat Law Florida
Florida car seat allows you to put your child in a booster seat when he or she is at the age of elder than 4 years old. But if we follow the experts, they say that this way is too young for using a booster seat. Most of the experts recommend that if your child weight is up to 85 pounds, then he can use a booster seat and your child height should be more than 35 inches.
So if you ask us, then we will tell the rule is almost same as the Texas Car Seat Laws that we published on our website.
Florida is a warm state. In summer, the weather and the air of the state environment got pretty hot. Children are really vulnerable to the heat of vehicle heat strokes. They are so sensitive in very hot weather. For this reason, according to Florida car seat law, if any parents leave their child in a vehicle for 15 minutes or more than this time may be charged with second degree.
If you are new to the topic vehicular heatstroke, then you should search in it. You will get much information on Google about vehicular heatstroke.
All in all, these are the Florida car seat laws that you need to take into account if you’re planning to visit or even move. In case you have problems with arranging the car seat for your car, you can always visit one of Florida’s child safety seat check points. They will offer you free advice and help.
Be the first to comment