“As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases”
Car Seat Laws Texas: The world is a place of subsist and depart. Accidents are common issues of our life. But what if an accident takes our life or kills our little most lovable child. Can any parents tolerate this? And if that accident happened to the lack of safety issues, then how it would be considered.
Forget about the accident cases. A little, one-or-two years child can be harshly injured because of a simple carelessness. And, if that situation occurs for the lack of security and safety during vehicle transportation, can you imagine about that situation? I personally don’t wish that would happen with any kids and their parents.
So, your children must be safe during car rides. Taking into consideration the number of children that have a disability or die because of the misusage of car seats, the car seat laws from Texas have been modified in 2009.
Today, the car seat laws from Texas have some strict rules regarding how to secure children correctly during vehicle transportation. If you have any doubts or you don’t know how the laws of Texas require your child to be safely restrained, then all you have to do is read further to find out the answers to your questions.
Table of Contents
Car Seat Laws Texas – Securing your child
Car seat laws: Texas – before finding out how to correctly secure your child in your car, you must be aware of the Texas laws, especially if you are living in Texas or planning to spend some time there. If you are going to set any plan for a vacation with your family, at first, you should aware about the laws of that place. Almost every state or city has these transportation rules as well as Texas also. Those who don’t respect the Texas law regarding child car seats can pay a fine between $ 100 and $ 200.
Here you have the car seat laws from Texas in brief
Rear-facing Seat Laws
- All children under eight years old must be securely restrained in a federally approved child restraint. The law doesn’t apply if the child is over 4 feet and 9 inches (57 inches) in height.
- Newborns and infants up 35 pounds must ride in a rear-facing seat, in the back seat.
- All passengers must buckle up, no matter the seat they’re in.
- Under no circumstances an infant is allowed in the front seat.
New recommendations of the car seat law Texas state that children are safer if they remain in the rear-facing position until the age of 2 or even longer. If possible, they should continue rear-facing until they reach the height or weight limit of their convertible car seat.
The reason behind these car seat laws from Texas recommendations is that children under two are 75% less susceptible to severe injury or death if placed rear-facing. This is because babies and younger children have fragile necks and heavy heads. In case of an accident, they can be severely injured in their spinal cord if they are placed forward-facing seat.
Forward-facing Seat Laws
Once your child can be placed forward-facing safely, the car seat laws from Texas , recommend making sure the following rules are met:
- Use the top tether properly, because it plays an essential role in your child’s safety. It can reduce up to 8 inches of the child’s forward head movement.
- Use them from frontages 1- 4 years and 20 – 40 pounds.
- Make sure that the harness is snug enough.
- Don’t use the car seat for more than six years.
Booster Seat Laws
At the beginning, the booster seat laws were like that a child younger than five and shorter than 36 inches tall must be properly secured in a booster seat. But after that, some parents were complaining about that law. So, the new law was given. The new law says that the children under eight would have to sit in the seat unless they are taller than 4 feet 9 inches.
But it’s pretty tall for 4 feet nine inches child to be in a booster seat. And, obviously that’s a big change. After declaring this change, many parents become confused. They asked why and they got the answer simply.
When you think about a small child is being taken out of the car seat at age five or six and plopped into the seat and then the buckling system of the car being placed on them, it doesn’t fit them. That’s simply useful to solve this problematic issue.
Now, the booster Car seat laws Texas requires that the following should be met for your child to be able to use a booster:
- The child weighs at least 40 pounds and is at least four years old.
- You should use them until your child 4 feet 9 inches tall.
- The place where the child sits has both a lap and shoulder belt.
- The child is capable of sitting still during the entire ride.
Car Seat Belt Laws
There are also car seat belt laws are included in Texas car seat laws. To move your child from a booster seat to seat belt, your child must meet all of the below five conditions. Take a look at them:
- Vehicle lap belt is low and snug over the child’s hips.
- Shoulder belt should cross the child at mid-shoulder.
- The knees of the child should bend comfortably at the front edge of the seat.
- The child’s feet should perfectly touch on the vehicle floor.
- The child should remain in the correct position the whole time.
Car seat laws Texas wants to make sure that both you and your child are secure in case of an accident. Thus, the laws and recommendations will make you and your child feel safe during your car rides.
Importance of A Car Seat
Safe your child from injuries, you must need to buy a car seat for your kid. That car seat must meet your child requirements. We have recently posted in another article about baby car seat. You should check them before purchase a car seat for your child. There you will get all the information about baby car seat and Ultimate guide to car seat .
That doesn’t matter how much safer you are in your journey. Accidents or any bad situation can occur at any time. If your child suffers a car accident because of your fault, as a parent you can never forgive yourself.
So, to ensure the best safety and security to your kid, you must obey the rules of car seat laws. Those rules cannot protect you from injuries or accidents, but can decrease the chances of an accident and child injury in a huge amount.
Be the first to comment